Smoky Tomato Soup

3 Mar


Consider yourself lucky if this is the first time you are hearing that I’ve been sick. I can’t stand when I’m sick and I have tendency not to be able to talk about anything else. I also am highly suspicious of medicine. So I often avoid it, which you could argue, might be why I’m still sick. But I swear gurgling warm salt water and eating a strange amount of brussels sprouts is working and really, tomorrow I think I’ll be totally fine.

And the reason I’m sick? Soup. I know, I know.

Gavin came home sick early last week so I decided to make him soup after work because I’m 27 going on 60. I wasn’t worried I’d get sick because I believe I have a superior immune system. I was so not worried that when he didn’t finish his bowl of soup I finished it for him. I even had a passing thought that this probably wasn’t brilliant but was so egotistical about my soup strength that I didn’t care.

Sniffle sniffle cough cough. And that is why I had to miss this soup night at Alayna’s. And I’m souper sad (can’t help it) that I did because how good does this soup look? Roasted tomatoes. Amazing. When I’m stronger I will recreate this masterpiece in a bowl and I’ll never be sick again.


The Soup!

  • Cut 6-7 very ripe tomatoes in half and put face down on a baking sheet with half a head of unpeeled garlic (or whole, I only had half) with the top cut off and a little olive oil sprinkled on. Put in the oven at 375 for about 30-40 minutes, until the skin easily comes off the tomatoes and the garlic is soft
  • Put 3 dried chiles pasillas and 2 dried chiles anchos on a different baking pan and put in the oven for about 5-10 minutes until they are puffed up. Take out and let cool.
  • Once cool, cut the stems out of the peppers and take out the seeds. Put all the other parts into the blender
  • When your tomatoes and garlic are ready, put them into the blender as well. The garlic should easily squeeze out of it’s casing. You will want to wait a little bit for your tomatoes to cool so that the lid doesn’t fly off the blender, so in the mean time….
  • …. chop one yellow onion and saute in olive oil
  • Once translucent, add one large can of diced roasted tomatoes with juice and slowly heat
  • Blend your chile/fresh tomato/garlic mixture thoroughly and add to the pot
  • Top off with chicken broth and like, simmer about 30 minutes
  • In those thirty minutes, cut up an avocado, grate some sharp cheddar cheese and heat up a pan of oil to cook up some tortilla strips.
  • When all the elements are in place, serve yourself with avocado, cheese and tortilla strips on top

  • Advertisements

    Leave a Reply

