Avgolemono Soup

25 May

Well, first of all, I got called out for not reading this blog as carefully as I should. Which is odd because I write it. But in addition to this lovely soup I made a rhubarb strawberry crisp because Jamie was our soup buddy of the week and it was her birthday (today- Happy Birthday!). Also because rhubarb and strawberries are in season and are all over the farmer’s market. After I cut all the rhubarb into tiny little bits Alayna informed I didn’t peel the edges, which I would have known if I had read this more carefully. It’s a lot more time consuming to do this bit by bit as opposed to before you cut it on the stalk, let me tell you.

Either way, this is a Greek soup, as Alayna and I continue to tour the globe with our soup bowls and a dream. It would have been tasty with roasted asparagus also, but after we roasted the asparagus Alayna and I accidently ate it all before we were able to put it in the soup. If you have more willpower, go ahead and try it. Dandelion greens were only added because I can’t resist buying greens- they’re in season! Speaking of greens check out Alayna’s alligator/appetizer tray that’s crawling through the jungle. Want to see more? Then come to her show. Yup, promo!

Ladles up friends- and let us know if you like our new blog home.

To see these animals in the wild, come to Alayna’s pottery show! June 19, Choplet Studio (include link: http://www.choplet.com/gallery.html) from 6-9

Avgolemono Soup

  • Fill up your soup pot with broth and one chopped white onion and bring to a boil
  • add about 2-3 cups of orzo and cook until done (about 10 minutes)
  • while the orzo is cooking, whisk four eggs with about 1/4-1/2 cup of lemon juice
  • when orzo is done, turn off the stove and slowly add about two cups of broth to the eggs while continuously mixing the eggs so they don’t cook, then pour the mix into the pot while stirring
  • add one bunch of chopped dandelion greens and one bunch of chopped spinach greens, stirring in
  • when wilted, add about 1/2 of parmesan and more lemon if desired
2 Responses to “Avgolemono Soup”

  1. Special Scout May 25, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    1. I love the new blog format.
    2. I want that turtle. Can I just reserve it now?

  2. Laura June 2, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    Somehow I am not surprised that the roasted asparagus disappeared beforehand. 🙂

Leave a Reply

