Vichysoisse Soup

6 Jul

Looks like a tranquil and serene dinner right? It sure was. Until I got back home to my apartment the next evening, opened my refrigerator and remembered that I have tubs upon plastic tubs of CSA vegetables that are just piling up. Radishes, carrots, cucumbers, scapes, green onions, dandelion greens, etc. etc. etc. I could tell a panic was rising. I started to write down all of the vegetables on a list as to somehow calm my nerves. Yes, listing calms my nerves. But as I kept discovering pockets of new vegetables I had stored away from my last CSA pick up, potatoes on top the fridge, blueberries behind the box of basil, that’s when I had a little freak out.

Maybe it was the heat.

CSA-Freak Out. I know there are others like me. Gavin said this is for fun, just don’t use them if you don’t want them. But if you’re like me that’s not an option. The idea guilt riddles my bones. And then it’s one of those things where I realize I don’t have any time to actually cook or preserve this food until Thursday late night, which is also my next CSA pick up date. I mean, I could just not pick up my vegetables next week. But that feels like failure.

I remember reading a feminist essay way back in the undergrad days about a woman wanting a “A Wife.” She essentially meant a traditional homemaker. I feel that. As I work towards… honestly just trying to be good– trying to know where my food comes from and what it is, trying to minimize my environmental impact, trying to enjoy the art of cooking– I’m increasingly realizing the time factor this all takes.

But the thing is the more you learn about food culture and the process involved the harder it is to go back, to unconsciously eat a Subway sandwich and forget about what you know and don’t know about that sandwich (not that there is anything wrong with Subway, it’s just the idea of not knowing everything you are about to put in your mouth). With knowledge there is power… and obligation. And a lot of damn work.

Vichysoisse Soup

  • 2 leeks, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup thinly sliced potatoes
  • 2 1/3 cups chicken stock
  • salt to taste
  • ground black pepper to taste
  • 1 1/8 cups heavy whipping cream
  1. Gently sweat the chopped leeks and the chopped onion in butter or margarine until soft, about 8 minutes. Do NOT let them brown.
  2. Add potatoes and stock to the saucepan. Salt and pepper to taste; do not overdo them! Bring to the boil, and simmer very gently for 30 minutes.
  3. Puree in a blender or food processor until very smooth. Cool. Gently stir in the cream before serving.
2 Responses to “Vichysoisse Soup”

  1. sheisoverthere July 7, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    I just want to let everyone know that I feel incredibly better than I did yesterday. I got home from work yesterday at 7 and had to leave again at 8:20 but in that time- and in a tizzy- I made a ton of tabouleh and the healthiest gazpacho ever. I don’t think I properly put together that gazpacho is liquid raw vegetables and stock? Brilliant. The moral, don’t give up on CSA vegetables, reach for the moon soupies.

  2. Alayna July 8, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    And I got back into town… that fixes everything, right?

Leave a Reply

