Sprouted Mung Bean Salad

14 Jul

This has never happened before (AKA posting on a Wed.) but I made something last night that I was so excited about I had to share. This also might have been the first time I had a weird impulse grain buy and actually used those impulse grains effectively.  I’m proud.

Meet the Sprouted Mung Bean. These are super healthy for you, a lot of protein and low in calories and all that. They are also really satisfying to eat. This is a delicious cold summer salad or warm summer stew, depending on your mood. It’s really easy to make. And like, I said, I made it up. I’m really proud of myself.

Sprouted Mung Bean Salad

  • Boil 3 cups of vegetable stock
  • Add 1 cup “Sprouted Mung Beans” to boiling stock and let boil for 5 minutes
  • Turn off heat, cover and leave for 2 minutes
  • In a separate sauce pan simmer 1 onion (red or white) in 1 or so tbsp of olive oil and 1 tsp of cayenne pepper for 10 or 15 minutes
  • Pour the pot of Mung Beans, with stock, into the onions
  • Add 1 or 2 cups of freshly shelled peas (preferably)
  • Add 1 ear of corn kernels
  • Add 1 tsp of thyme
  • Let all this simmer for a couple minutes. Add a squeeze of lime and pepper to taste.
  • Enjoy because it’s the BEST!
One Response to “Sprouted Mung Bean Salad”

  1. Alayna July 14, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    fancy! and those are not the dry mungs we talked about, b/c those you have to cook for a long time…. maybe I WILL make that persian soup again

Leave a Reply

