Alayna’s “So Long NYC” note/ Summer corn soup

28 Jul

If you’ve been anywhere around Mary in the past six to eight months, you’ve probably heard that I’m throwing the most successful going away campaign ever in the history of the universe. It started off gently (and in January or February) with invitations like, “hey, I really want to see the Frick before I go…. want to do it this weekend?” And then moved on to the, “but I want to do one last happy hour at Boat Basin before I leave!”

Now I have accumalated a kind of ridiculous number of going away events in the past two weeks… going away drinks, going away party…

… going away dinner, going away beach trip…

… going away soup night…

… going away cocktails after soup night

And (tonight! because I’m a slacker who hasn’t posted until now!) going away pottery night. I’m not even actually going away until Saturday, and then Mary’s coming with me (don’t worry kids, I’ll send her back eventually!). But I will say, the going away soup was pretty stellar. Zizi even posed for a going away cat with soup photo.

It almost makes up for having to leave, but worry not, soupers… soup’s still on come next Monday!

Thaaaaaat’s right Soup Lads and Ladles, fret not, Monday’s Soup will continue every Monday. Alayna and I will alternate weeks. We’ll bring in new soup friends to help us. My new soup friend works here. I’m bragging, I know. Alayna will bring in new soup insights from Washington, D.C. What do folks on the Hill like to eat? I have no idea, not yet anyway, but soon we’ll all know as Monday’s Soup travels to the United States capital! Oh, dear lord, this reminds me of a song…

(Sing to the tune of School House Rock’s “I’m Just a Bill.”)

Boy: Woof! You sure gotta climb a lot of steps to get to this Capitol Building here in Washington. But I wonder who that sad little bowl is?

I’m just a bowl.
Yes, I’m only a a bowl.
And I’m sitting here on Capitol Hill.
Well, it’s a long, long journey
To the capital city.
It’s a long, long wait
While the soup is sitting on the stove,
But I know I’ll be a bowl of soup someday
At least I hope and pray that I will,
But today I am still just a bowl.

Boy: Gee, Bowl, you certainly have a lot of patience and courage.

Bowl: Well I got this far. When I started, I wasn’t even a bowl, I was just an idea. Some folks back home decided they wanted a bowl of soup, so they called their local Congressman and he said, “You’re right, there oughta be soup.” Then he sat down and molded me out and introduced me to Congress. And I became a bowl, and I’ll remain a bowl until they decide to make me a bowl of soup.

I’m just a bowl.
Yes, I’m only a a bowl.
And I’m sitting here on Capitol Hill.
Well, it’s a long, long journey
To the capital city.
It’s a long, long wait
While the soup is sitting on the stove,
But I know I’ll be a bowl of soup someday
At least I hope and pray that I will,
But today I am still just a bowl.

Boy: Listen to those congressmen arguing! Is all that discussion and debate about you?

Bowl: Yeah, I’m one of the lucky ones. Most bowls never even get this far. I hope they decide to eat me favourably, otherwise I may die.

Boy: Die?

Bowl: Yeah, die in committee. Oooh, but it looks like I’m gonna live! Now I go to the House of Representatives, and they vote on me.

Boy: If they vote yes, what happens?

Bowl: Then I go to the Senate and the whole thing starts all over again.

Boy: Oh no!

Bowl: Oh yes!

I’m just a bowl.
Yes, I’m only a a bowl.
And I’m sitting here on Capitol Hill.
Well, it’s a long, long journey
To the capital city.
It’s a long, long wait
While the soup is sitting on the stove,
But I know I’ll be a bowl of soup someday
At least I hope and pray that I will,
But today I am still just a bowl.

Boy: You mean even if the whole Congress says you should be a bowl of soup , the president can still say no?

Bowl: Yes, that’s called a veto. If the President vetoes me, I have to go back to Congress and they vote on me again, and by that time you’re so old…

Boy: By that time it’s very unlikely that you’ll become a bowl of soup. It’s not easy to become a bowl of soup, is it?

Bowl: No!

But how I hope and I pray that I will,
But today I am still just a bowl.

Congressman: He laddled you, bowl! Now you’re a bowl of soup!

Bowl: Oh yes!!!


Summer Corn, Zucchini and Mint Soup

For Broth:

  • Cut the kernels off six ears of sweet corn and set aside
  • Cover the six cobs, a pound of carrots, one yellow onion (quartered) and some salt and pepper with ample water and simmer for about an hour
  • Drain into a bowl and let cool

For Soup:

  • Saute six cloves of garlic, roughly chopped
  • When translucent, add one white onion, chopped, and cook covered until onion is soft
  • Add four large zucchini, thinly chopped and cover until about halfway cooked through
  • Add in reserved corn and cover again
  • When corn and zucchini are mostly cooked, add in a generous handful of chopped mint
  • When veggies are cooked through, add in corn broth, the juice of two lemons and blend
  • Serve warm or cold with a dollop of greek yogurt or sour cream
Leave a Reply

