Parting Persian Soup

2 Aug

Well, I’ve really done it… left the wilds of New York to go back to Washington DC. The week before I left was spent sorting through all of my things (and who knew I had so many things???) deciding what to take, what to sell and what to give away, and finally getting everything into boxes and onto a (very small) truck with the help of some very generous friends and family. Mary, in her gimp boot and best friend role, came with me to keep me sane in situations like the movers not showing up and breaking a mirror at 1am when trying to move a chair, and I won’t lie, it might have been all worth it the next morning when we got to have our coffee on my front porch.

(Mary says, Note to my new friends, if what you want me to do allows me to wear overalls for two days straight I’ll probably say yes.)

The week before I left I cleared out the fridge and the pantry to make one last soup to keep me going through the packing and use up the rest of my produce and dried goods… something with lots of fiber and veggies, but thick enough to be filling even when I’d been working all day. It’s loosely based off of the Persian soup with did when Mojdeh was in town, and also delicious enough to eat for a week straight. Enjoy!

Parting Persian Soup

  • Sauté about five cloves of garlic and one large yellow onion in olive oil with a generous amount of turmeric until the onion is soft
  • Add two cups of mung beans, cover with water and bring to a low boil for about ten minutes
  • Add two cups of yellow lentils, one cup of rice and about ¾ a stick of butter, adding more water if necessary, and let simmer for another 45 minutes to an hour until all beans are soft
  • For the last ten minutes, chop up and add in whatever vegetables you have in your fridge (in this case, two red bell peppers, four carrots, and a quarter bag of spinach)
  • Serve with Greek yogurt or plain!

One Response to “Parting Persian Soup”

  1. mojdeh August 4, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    aw, this post made me so happy and yet so sad! like, i actually started tearing up. yes, i am a girl (sometimes).

Leave a Reply

