Spicy Quinoa Soup & Peach Frozen Yogurt

9 Aug

Alayna has moved out of town. I’m auditioning for new lady friends. Paul is barefoot and touring Phish somewhere out West. Days can be lonely for the soup ladle left behind. Thank goodness for the Union Square farmer’s market. It’s my favorite community indulgence. Gavin makes fun of me because I impulsively buy vegetables I don’t need the way other girls buy shoes. And then I get really anal about not wasting any of them. I’ve tried to lighten up with this. I don’t guilt myself if say, I don’t consume the carrot top greens, but when I do figure out how to work everything in and waste nothing I feel like I did well on a puzzling math test.

This soup is tasty. It’s like the lime soup we made way back in the day but more grain-packed. I used 2 cups quinoa and that was a ton. Feel free to just use 1 cup if you want it to feel more soupy less salady. You know what I’m saying.

In other news I’m headed to the Dominican Republic and Alayna is in Colombia, so, I’m not totally sure how we’re going to post for next Monday but we will. So check back. Eat soup and, oh! enjoy the frozen yogurt recipe. I gave up ice cream when I was in my medical boot as some sort of deranged punishment. So I made this instead, which some people could say is cheating, but it’s so good for you, with no added sugar, I’d say–Lord, sometimes I just have to step back and tell myself I’m not a health food commerical. Whatever, eat what you want. See you next week.

Spicy Quinoa Soup

4 ears of corn
2 jalapenos
1 giant handful of lima beans
2 cups of quinoa
3 heirloom tomatoes
1 onion
2 cloves of garlic
generous shakes of red pepper
avocado

  • Heat oil in soup bowl and add 1 chopped onion, saute for 5 minutes
  • Add a generous shake or two of red pepper and 2 cloves of chopped garlic, keep on low heat for another few minutes until everything becomes fragrant.
  • Turn heat to medium and add 4 cups of vegetable broth and 2 cups of quinoa, wait until the pot starts to boil and then turn to simmer and put on a lid– let sit for about 10 minutes, checking occasionally to see if you need to add more water
  • Add lima beans, let sit for another 5 minutes
  • Add corn kernels, chopped jalopeanos, 3 chopped tomatoes, stir and let simmer for another 10 minutes or so (more if you aren’t ready to eat)
  • Add avacado slices and a squeeze of lime and lemon to taste. Enjoy!

Healthy Peach Fro-Yo

  • 1 pound of peaces, chop them into pieces drop them in boiling water for 30 seconds, then drop them immediately in water with ice cubes for 5 minutes, drain and freeze the in pieces over night or longer with one sliced banana
  • The next day, put 1.5 cup of non-fat yogurt, 1/4 cup of honey, 2 tsp. vanilla in a blender and blend, then slowly add the frozen fruit until it’s all blended to your chunky/chunk-less preference
  • Put in freezer container, freeze for 2 hours and enjoy!
  • Can stay in the freezer up to 3 weeks
  • Tip eat with drizzled honey, the honey freezes over it and is delicious!
Leave a Reply

