Chicken bean soup & Olive chicken

18 Aug

I’m starting to realize my kitchen looks a little Soviet Russia. I still really love my kitchen… some people would call it a hallway or a foyer, but I call it a kitchen. I’m always startled when I see it in pictures, like the one above and realize it’s hideous. My kitchen is my ugly baby.

Alayna’s mom made this chicken when we were in D.C. moving her in and it was so delicious I made it the following week and that recipe is below. With the corresponding soup I made with the meat and bones. I’m not putting the broth recipe in here because we all know how to make chicken broth by now right? If not, check ’em archives. I like the routine of the Sunday chicken, Monday soup. Feels very on-the-farm-practical, you know? Using everything down to the bones and all.

Alright, sorry this is short and boring. I just got back from the Dominican Republic. Alayna is in Colombia. I’m still thinking about coconuts and sunscreen. Now go and get yourself a chicken.

Shoot, that looks sorta disgusting doesn’t it? It’s not though I swear!

Sunday Chicken, Monday soup

Olive chicken

Put a 4-6 pound roasting chicken in a slow cooker or dutch oven

Add thyme and smoked paprika to the chicken

Put in 2 green peppers chopped and three or four wedged tomatoes, I squeezed their juice onto the chicken

Throw in one chopped onion

Pour in an entire jar, with the juice, of black olive (I’m not an olive fan so I put in half the jar of olives- but all the juice)

In a slow cooker cook on low for 9 hours, in a dutch oven cook for two hours

From this I made 2 meals with the chicken, ladling the delicious juice over your entire plate, (I froze the bones to use as a broth later).  There was a lot of chicken left over- I put this in the fridge for Monday Soup. There was also a lot of left over broth and juice left over, which I also saved for Monday soup (don’t freak when you open it the next day and you realize it’s become a gelatin, all you first timers.)

Chicken Bean Soup

Boil 2 quarts of water, dump in 1 and 1/2 cups of dried beans (any kind of beans- I did one of those mix packets) let boil for 2 minutes, take off heat and let sit for an hour

Meanwhile, heat 1 tbsp of olive oil in your soup pot, add 1 chopped onion until fragrant

Add (and this is all really based on whatever is in your fridge), a couple chopped carrots, 1 chopped Japanese eggplant, 1 chopped zucchini, 3 chopped red potatoes. Let all that simmer for about 15 minutes.

Pour in all the leftover broth from last night’s chicken into the pot. If it doesn’t almost cover the veggies add some water

Add a big squeeze of lemon or two, 1 tsp of thyme and 1 tspn of paprika and 1 tsp of salt & pepper. Add the beans (with their water if you want more liquid). Taste it and see if you want to add a chicken bullion cube. Let all of it sit on simmer for another 30+ minutes.

Add in as much of the leftover chicken as you want and a few handful of leafy greens.

Let it sit for another 10 minutes and ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

