Simple Carrot Soup

28 Sep

Paul has been talking about this soup which requires no more ingredients than carrots, onions, salt and oil, since he first read my soup blog. I have been intrigued by this soup as it seems so basic and simple and fundamental.  I was also wary, truth be told, that after a long day a bowl of carrots and onions wasn’t really going to do the trick and fill me up.

It did fill me up, surprisingly well. I didn’t even go home and eat that second dinner I was banking on. Paul’s way of cooking is strikingly different from Alayna’s, or maybe it’s just how he cooks for this blog. Whereas Alayna and I are more in the camp of cooking for nourishment and pleasure, Paul falls into another category of cooking as art, cooking as science.

I’m sure his work at WD~50 will push this mentality further. Paul mentioned how the restaurant has one regular. Which intrigued me because the food there seems so much like, experience first, nourishment second (or third). I’d love to know who this lonely man is who feels comforted ending his days with food that is square when it’s supposed to be liquid, black when it’s supposed to be color. A plate of tricks (and treats). Transition to orange soup picture below…

Simple Carrot Soup

  • 4 pounds of carrots
  • 2 onions
  • Salt
  • Oil
  • Peal and dice carrots, drop them in your soup pot with 2 tbsp of oil, add generous shakes of salt
  • Cook over low/medium heat, sweating the carrots, for an hour or so- mixing occasionally throughout
  • Add chopped onions, generous shakes of salt over the onions
  • Let this all continue to heat for 20 minutes or so
  • Cover with water, mix
  • Puree
  • Add salt to taste
3 Responses to “Simple Carrot Soup”

  1. Laura September 30, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    This sounds great. Maybe sometime soon you will teach me how to make salmon on the grill…

    • Alayna October 4, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

      haha… hint taken bagel! i will post it soon!

  2. mojdeh October 27, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    success! my sister (who is a tough person to please) liked it too and was impressed. thanks m.lo!

Leave a Reply

