Roasted Squash and Coconut Soup

6 Oct

Fall is in the air, my friends, and I’m sad to see summer go (and yes, Bagel, I DO have some posts I need to put up about my horrible horrible failure at cooking salmon on the grill… even though we got some delicious results in the end), but it’s nice to have a hot soup on a cold day. I got a nasty cold over the weekend and, me being me, decided that the only way to cure it would be through food. And by food, I mean ginger and garlic. That’s right kids, in the course of two days, I’ve consumed no less than one huge ginger root and, last night, an entire head of garlic. It was delicious. And I feel a lot better today. I started with a steamed artichoke with a roasted garlic/butter sauce while the soup was simmering on the stove and I read my stats homework.

EVIDENCE:

Then I moved on to my delicious delicious amazing soup (with the rest of the head of garlic) that I blended using my brand new immersion blender (thanks sister!)… I swear I have never blended a soup so thoroughly in my life… it was silky smooth and delicious. The only thing I would maybe change about this recipe is to maybe throw in a chile ancho at the beginning to get a little more depth to the flavor. Maybe that will be a project for another week when Mary has the soup reign

… now I just have to figure out what I’m going to do with all these apples.

Roasted Squash and Coconut Soup with Ginger

  • Halve 3-4 large acorn squash, scoop out the seeds and place in a brownie pan. Add a little bit of water into the hollow of each squash and cover with tinfoil, baking at 375 for about an hour (until you can easily poke through the  flesh of the squash). In the same pan, put a full head of garlic with the top chopped off and a little bit of olive oil on top.
  • When your squash have been cooking for a while, chop up about 2 inches of garlic and sautee in olive oil with a few generous shakes of chili powder. When fragrant, add one small can of coconut milk and half a can of water and bring down the heat to a simmer.
  • When your squash is out and cool enough to handle with oven mits, scoop out the insides into the soup pot, adding more water if necesarry. Let simmer for another 20-30 minutes to really get the ginger flavor in.
  • Use your AWESOME immersion blender (or a regular blender if you don’t have excellent late birthday presents showing up at your house) to blend thoroughly and serve!
Leave a Reply

