Smith Street Soup Festival & Lentil Bean Soup

25 Oct

What a fantastic soup weekend! It’s not every day you receive an email asking if you’re going to Smith Street Soup Festival on Saturday. What is this wonderful sounding Brooklyn event I wondered. Turns out you pay $5 for a ticket and with that one ticket you can eat 26 different soups from 26 different restaurants! What a deal!

I made a terrible mistake I will never repeat next year- because I’m going to Smith Street Soup Festival for the rest of my life now- that is I ate a giant bagel (and a half) an hour earlier. Than I drank a pumpkin spice latte. After downing 7 or so soups I was checked out on sodium and was having trouble moving my extremities. Jamie, my soup festival buddy, kept going, last I heard from her she was on a bus bound to IKEA so, yeah, I’m riding that one off under sodium high.

You know what else I learned? That our Monday’s Soups are pretty good. I mean these soups were alright. And the idea of people up and down the street lading soup bowls was amazing. But the soup themselves, I’ll give them a upbeat Meh.

And for the lentil bean soup I made this week? I’ll give that an upbeat THUMBS UP.

Busy hands didn’t deter Jamie, who drank the soups like Red Bulls circa ’01.

Lentil & Bean Soup

So this soup might sound familiar but I’m learning that it’s really worth it to simmer soups longer rather than shorter. I simmered this guy for about 2 hours and it totally paid off. Delicious!

  • Heat olive oil and add 1 chopped white onion with a sprinkling of salt, saute for 15 minutes and add 3 or so chopped pieces of garlic
  • Add a few sprigs of thyme
  • Add chopped vegetables. I included carrots, celery and winter squash- but this was only because that’s what I got in my CSA, add whatever. Lightly salt and saute for 30 minutes
  • Add 2 cups of lentils and cover with water. Turn heat to medium/low. Add 2 bay leaves and 2 or 3 vegetable bullion (I also added 2 red chilis)
  • Meanwhile boil 1 cup of beans for 2 minutes- add to soup with water.
  • Let everything simmer for an hour+
  • Add spices to taste.
  • Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

