Cumin Lentil

10 Nov

If you work with me- AKA if you are Winston or Schulyer (Hi Winston and Schulyer!) you know I’ve been eating lentils for about the last two weeks straight. I made a lentil soup when it was my off-soup week. And I made another lentil soup this week. Look, I like lentils. So lets learn about them…

Well, well, look what I found. Lentils are a good source of protein and iron, especially good as a red meat replacement. AND it reads, “Like meat, the iron in lentils is better absorbed when they are eaten with a good source of vitamin C like leafy green vegetables.” Good thing this soup is loaded with leafy green vegetables!

Another reason that I keep making the same soup is that I’m in a CSA, which you should all know about by now. Speaking of, this week I just signed up for my WINTER CSA which has meat! VERY EXCITING LADLES. Anyways, making a thick vegetable soup with lentils and beans is a great way to utilize a ton of vegetables pretty easily. So this week I added a lot of cumin. And winter squash. It’s different from last time’s I swear. But it’s the same in that it’s delicious.

My bounty.

CUMIN LENTILS

  • Saute an onion in olive oil for 10 minutes with salt and 2 tspn of cumin
  • add carrots, parsnips, potatoes, winter squash… whatever your “hard” vegetables are. Add more salt. Mix around and let sweat for about 15+ minutes
  • Toss in a bay leaf, sprigs of thyme mix around until vegetables are getting soft when you poke them with a fork
  • Add one or two cups of lentils depending on how thick you want the soup
  • Cover with water and add two bullions, bring the soup to medium heat to boil, then simmer for 40 minutes- add more water if it’s not brothy enough- add more cumin to taste
  • I also like to cook a cup of beans on the side and toss them in- your call. With this I add all my leafy greens and mix that in for the last 10 minutes.
  • Then serve this hearty soup that feels a little stone age but tastes delightful.
One Response to “Cumin Lentil”

  1. Angie November 14, 2010 at 5:29 am #

    You should have waaaayyy more comments on your soups, sugar.

    I ran across your blog while Googling a recipe on the menu of my favorite lunch spot for a job I got laid off from about two months ago. Got a new job, just miss the soups.

    I think yours look better 🙂

Leave a Reply

