Pre-Vacation Fridge Stew

30 Nov


I always feel like before vacation there’s this secret challenge to eat all of the food that could go bad, but also have at least one fresh meal (aka, not spaghetti, although it will do in a pinch) available for when you get home so you don’t have to go out to the store or eat take-out when you first get back. (Mary’s head: I don’t know if other people are like this, because I’m never this organized to think about these details BUT I can testify that Alayna gets herself into a tizzy if she doesn’t have a meal prepared to come home, too. Anyway, read on…) Shockingly it’s times like these that I turn to stew. With this one I managed to use all of my half peppers/bags of carrots/onions, come out with something delicious for when I got home, and ‘lazy cook’ (meaning, chop up a bunch of things then do nothing for a long time then eat! Crockpots are brilliant!).

Even MORE importantly, over Thanksgiving I was up in New York and got to see Mary! A long dinner and a palm reading (what? yes, we did that) made me miss New York, but at least I’ll be back in less than a month! (What, hi!, I’m back. Dude that palm reader FREAKED ME OUT. Freaked me so bad that I might start to reconsider my drunk habit of popping into palm readers’ shops. Have you noticed there are as many palm reader shops as bodegas in NYC? And how there is always a fat man in an undershirt watching loud TV in the back? No one ever talks about these things.)

Uhm, is it just me or do I actually sort of look like a palm reader? Alayna just looks like a graduate student though.

Vacation Stew!

  • Add about 2 cups of dried lentils, one chopped sweet potato, one chopped red onion, one chopped red pepper, 6 cloves of chopped garlic, half a bag of baby (or grown-up) carrots, two inches of chopped fresh ginger, one peeled and chopped acorn squash and five chicken thighs (in bitesized pieces) to your crockpot with a few generous shakes of tumeric, a pinch of saffron and enough water to almost cover
  • add some salt and pepper
  • set on high for 6 hours

 

 

Leave a Reply

