Acorn Squash Chili

8 Dec

Do you know what today marks? The first day of my winter CSA that involves meat. Very, very exciting. I just picked up a giant frozen chicken and eggs. Mother and child! All in my refrigerator. I also picked up a few acorn squashes which are my favorite things in the world these days. And Jerusalem artichokes. Which look like ginger knobs and I have no idea how you cook them, but don’t fret I will find out and report back.

Meanwhile I have become somewhat obsessed with a very simple and hearty winter meal that I made up. It began as a mix-up. Gavin’s trivia co-host, Adam, noticed an acorn squash on my counter and said how he read a recipe about baked beans in a pumpkin. (That sounds so good right!) I got confused the next day and thought he said chili. So I made chili in an acorn squash. And then I told Adam and he was like, What you talking about?

Either way, it’s so good. And I’ve eaten it three different times. It’s also nice because you just drop the chili in the acorn and it looks fancy and nice but it’s actually incredibly easy. This also works to satisfy my recent onset of uncontrollable winter squash cravings. Is it the weather? Who knows. But make this ladles, and enjoy!

Acorn Squash Chili

  • Preheat oven to 400 F
  • Put 2 halves of acorn squash on baking sheet in oven, with seeds scooped out. Bake for 40 minutes
  • (I like to set the timer for 20 minutes and then start on the chili so everything finishes at the same time but whatever floats your boat)
  • Saute on low heat onions in olive oil with some salt and a lot of chili powder
  • Add a 3 cloves of garlic chopped
  • If you want to add other vegetables like mushrooms or green peppers add them now and wait until they are soft and sautéed to your liking
  • Then put in a 14 oz. can of black beans with generous shakes of cumin seeds (I put in 2 tspn)
  • Add 1 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes
  • I always like to add spinach too. Taste and see if you need more chili powder or cumin seeds or salt.
  • Spoon the chili into the acorn squash.
  • enjoy!!
Leave a Reply

