Carrot & Cilantro Soup

14 Feb

It’s winter. That means all I get from my CSA is a bunch of roots. If I see another Jerusalem artichoke I swear! I also have gotten completely inundated in carrots. I love carrots though so it’s OK. I also love carrot soup. Jesse and Gavin were over filming another episode of The Drinking Game Show. (Yes, this takes place in my little apartment. Incredible, I know.) While this was going on, I decided to make soup.

If you scan the ingredients you’ll notice some crazy things too, like jalapenos! This soup is a real winner. You might notice that a lot of these posts are Alayna’s. It’s because I’ve become a soup slacker. It’s because after 2+ years maybe I’ve gotten a little sick of eating soup. This is a place of trust so I can share these things. But this was one of those soups where I was like, Oh right, I LOVE soup. And I hope you do, too.

Carrot & Cilantro Soup

  • “Sweat” a whole bunch of carrots chopped into bits (since this soup is based on carrots buy organic/local if you can just for better flavor.) By sweat, I mean put carrots, salted liberally, in olive oil, in a pot and simmer for about 40 minutes stirring every 10 minutes or so
  • Add a white onion and continue to saute until onion is translucent
  • Sprinkle liberally with dried cilantro and cover with chicken broth, let simmer for about another 20 minutes
  • Let the soup cool and blend. Put back in pot to heat it up a bit
  • Meanwhile, chop a red onion, 2 jalapenos and liberal squirts of lime juice plus liberal shakes of dried cilantro. Add 2 big spoonfuls (or more) into your individual soup bowls and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

