Sweet Potatoes with Cilantro

11 Mar

Alayna is still in the Dominican Republic, so you’re left with me and another vegan mash. What a great Sunday New York Times Magazine last week. There was an article about some old, squirrely rich guy obsessed with longevity and eating a strict diet that is primarily “plant-based that’s low in animal fat while still allowing for protein sources beyond legumes.” He also eats smoothies composed of orange and banana peels (because their skins are closest to the sun they have the most energy. Duh.) AND our favorite, Mark Bittman, gave us four soup recipes which he said, “is all we’ll ever need for infinite variations.” Which means that this here blog you’ve been reading for the past 2+ years, these are those infinite variations. Which also means the variations are, as he clearly says, infinite. Which means this blog will never ever end.

I digress. I gave a gchat shout out looking for good vegan cook books because the one I bought that was from “Good Housekeeping,” is awful. Awful like most the recipes involve microwaves. (I don’t own a microwave and I don’t plan to.) And there are all these recipes with vegan bacon and vegan meatballs and the likes. I don’t like when vegan things pretend to be meat things. It’s like vegan-drag. It’s like be your own thing, you don’t have to try to copy the meat thing. I don’t know, it irks me.

These are the vegan cookbook suggestions I gathered, please let me know if you have any others or especially like one listed here. I’m open to suggestions before my big Strand visit next week.

-Skinny Bitch (I have flipped through this and the recipes sound fine but the title is just so completely irritating I really just don’t want to support it.)

-Vegan Yum Yum (it’s a blog, better yet.)

-Mark Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything Vegetarian” (not vegan but close and I really have loved him recently so there is that.)

In other news, I was in the kitchen at work yesterday and there were left over bagels and cream cheese from a meeting. A girl came in an exclaimed that she just Googled Philadelphia cream cheese to see if she could eat it as a vegetarian. She was excited to find out she could indeed. Then she explained that she used to be a vegan until she kept getting really sick for long periods of time. Let me clarify she wasn’t talking to me. I was creepily lurking by the vending machine, she was talking to someone else in the kitchen. That is the sort of eater I don’t strive to be. The idea of Googling Philadelipha cream cheese to see if you can eat strikes me as depressing. You should eat based on how you feel after you eat those foods, not because of Google. And a vegan who keeps getting sick just sounds so annoying. Like those people who are late for everything and make you wait around forever and then they aren’t even fun when they get there. We all have those friends right?

So that’s my weekly rant. Alayna will be back next week. In the meantime, all you hungry fools get is my vegan sweet potato recipe. Which though is a side dish, IS amazing

Sweet Potatoes with Cilantro

  • Heat oven to 400 F, spike sweet potato with fork several times, put on baking dish and put in oven for 50 minutes
  • Enjoy a nice glass of wine…
  • Pull out sweet potato drizzle a 1/2 tbsp of olive oil, generous with the salt, squeeze half a lime, and sprinkle with cilantro.
  • Mash it together.
  • This is going to taste so much better than you think. I just wish I could watch you take that first bite and be all like, Dannng.
One Response to “Sweet Potatoes with Cilantro”

  1. Nicolas May 12, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the pictures on this blog
    loading? I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

