Black and White Bean Soup

16 Mar

So, I just got back from Spring Break in the Dominican Republic early Sunday morning, and I’m not going to lie, it was a much needed vacation. Between classes, interning, family emergencies and trying to maintain the rest of my ‘real life’ (aka, friends who are and are not in my grad school program) my gas tank has pretty much been on empty since classes started in January. The only evidence you need is the fact that I’m the only person I know who goes to the Caribbean to get a fever and a chest cold. So by the time I got back I was ready for something hearty, full of veggies and heavily spiced… something that was essentially veggie fajitas but in soup form. Most people will probably want to scale back on the amount of spice I put in this soup since 1) I love spices and 2) I couldn’t taste anything due to congestion, but it was delicious and I highly suggest making it when you have a cold but not the right ingredients to make lime soup. And as a bonus, yes Mary, it is vegan. I can do it too!

Black and White Bean Soup

  • In a crock pot cook 1 cup dry black beans and 1 cup dry white/navy beans under about six cups of water in your crockpot for 6 hours on high with a generous helping of chili powder, cayenne pepper, cinnamon and nutmeg (alternatively you can use canned beans and add water later, although you will want to drain and rinse them before putting them in your soup!)
  • In a separate soup pot, saute 6-8 cloves of garlic and one small yellow onion with a generous helping of chili powder, cayenne pepper, cinnamon and nutmeg until translucent
  • Add as you chop 4-5 carrots, 2 zucchinis, 1 yellow squash, 4 portabello mushrooms, several generous handfuls of swiss chard and 2 red peppers and cook covered on low
  • When veggies are mostly cooked through, add beans and their water. Add a generous helping of salt, black pepper and more spices if you are a congested beast who can’t smell or taste anything and simmer for about another ten minutes
  • Sit back and enjoy your beans!




Leave a Reply

