Farro with kale

22 Mar

Alayna, are you so jealous of my well versed grain cupboard?

Hello Farro. Alayna asked what vegan meal I was going to make this week and I told her something that involved farro. She said What’s farro? And I said, that was exactly the response I was going for. As I mentioned earlier, one aspect of the vegan challenge for me is exploring whole grains, as we did with vegetables for soup. I feel like I have conquered bulgur- and now I’m moving on to the next thing. I actually had to go to two food stores to find farro, which was a pain because it was 9pm post-Poetry class so I wasn’t all in the mood for wandering the Whole Foods of Manhattan but alas, these are the things I do for my masses upon masses of ladles.

A little bit about farro. It takes about 45 minutes to cook. Like brown rice. You know what’s something I am discovering? 45 minutes isn’t actually that long. If you put the farro in boiling water, then turn it to simmer, right when you get home– then you go and putter around, it actually doesn’t set your eating time back. Writing that out I realize that sounds like incredibly obvious advice, but I have a tendency to get home and spin around in some weird whirlwinds for 30 minutes. So realizing I can put the thing on the stove or in the oven the moment I get home pre-spazzing out, well it’s just time efficient. Anyway, nutrition. There actually isn’t a lot written about farro. But lets see.

Well look at that! Farro is the oldest grain in the world. Didn’t realize I was eating great grandma last night. It was very popular in Biblical times. Awesome. Now it’s sort of popular in Italy and the Middle East. But I think circa Jesus and crew was farro’s real hay-day.  Farro is a whole grain that is an excellent source for complex carbohydrates. Additionally, farro has twice the fiber and protein than modern wheat. Different than some other whole grains, a carbohydrate in farro called cyanogenic glucosides has been found to stimulate the immune system, lower cholesterol and help maintain blood sugar levels. While farro does contain gluten, the gluten molecules are weaker than modern wheat, making it more easily digested.

Slam dunk! So anyways, I cooked this farro and tossed it in a pot with sauteed kale and broccoli in broth. And it was delicious. One serving (a BIG serving) had 10 grams of protein. Woot woot. Farro, welcome to my blog. And to my heart.

Farro with kale

  • Put 1/2 cup of farro with 1 and a 1/2 cups water and a tspn of salt over high heat, when boiling turn to simmer, cover, and have it sit for 45 minutes
  • Putter around
  • Saute an onion with some salt in olive oil
  • Add a bunch of kale (I literally put in an entire bunch and ate this meal by myself. That sounds excessive writing out, but remember how small it gets when it cooks!) Add some more salt
  • When kale start to shrink down at brocilli and about 2 cups of veggie broth (or chicken, I mean like, whatevs). Put on simmer and let sit for about 20 minutes
  • Throw in farro and mix it all around. Let sit for about 5 minutes.
  • Put in your bowl and enjoy. If you aren’t crazy vegan parm cheese is a very nice addition.
Leave a Reply

