Avocado & Tomatoes

6 Apr

Welcome back to the vegan challenge! Before I get into the dish, I want to talk milk. Long ago I have dismissed “milk” as a bi-product evil of American food politics and I became suspicious of it. I also have dismissed soy somewhere down the line. Why do I dismiss everything? Anyway, so now I’m onto Almond Milk like everyone else. I don’t drink glass loads, I put it in my coffee and oatmeal. But I noticed the other day that my Whole Foods Almond Milk does not boast “All Natural.” I then read the ingredient list and it’s weird. What should I cream my stuff with? I’m confused. I want your suggestions here. Is there a more natural almond milk to drink? Is milk not that big of a deal? I’m not going to be a super crazy and drink raw milk, that seems extreme. But I’d love to hear your tips. Anyways, now back to vegan challenge.

I know a vegan side dish isn’t the most exciting of posts. But it’s a side dish I’ve been bringing in as my lunch/snack to work nearly every day for the last 2 weeks because it’s so delicious (and avocados have been on sale, if we’re going to be honest) and I felt bad not sharing this with my ladles. Note that when I say “lunch/snack” I mean I tend to eat a procession of snacks instead of a lunch during the day at work. But this would also be just as lovely as a salad or summer side dish. It’s also the easiest, easiest thing to make in the world. And it tastes better than you think, I promise, even if you think it’ll taste delicious, it’ll taste more delicious.

Avocados & Tomatoes

  • Put in a cup of grape tomatoes
  • Put in bite size pieces of 1/2 and avocado
  • Add a tpsn or less of olive oil
  • Add a teaspoon of sea salt (liberal with the salt!)
  • Add a teaspoon of pepper
  • Shake it around. Eat chilled.
2 Responses to “Avocado & Tomatoes”

  1. aj April 6, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    This has been a favorite of mine for eons. Love avacados! I add lemon juice, though. It keeps the avacado from turning brown, and lemon juice and olive oil is the standard salad dressing here.

  2. Aimee April 12, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    Make your own almond milk – all you need is a blender some water and natural almonds. You can buy natural slivered almonds although the full “all natural” way is to blanch the almonds first, though this can get a little tedious and results in large piles of almond skins on your kitchen counter.

Leave a Reply

