And THAT is why we make soup!

13 Apr

Hello, blog friends. You may have noticed that lately a lot of the posts lately have been kind of like “oh hey there! here’s the recipe! bye!” without further commentary on flavor. Part of that is because we’re busy and yada yada, but another big part of it is that once you start cooking a lot, you just get… you know… good at it. I’m not saying that Mary and I are master chefs, just that most of the time it’s pretty easy to throw something together and have it taste good. And when everything tastes good, it’s hard to write a gushing post about how good a particular thing tastes.

And that, my friends, is why this is a special soup. It looks like some kind of gross gruel, but this is the first soup I’ve had in a long time where I’ve had my first bite and been like, “Woah….. that is a really good soup”. So I made my roomate try it (as I do with most of my soups) and she was all, “That is really good. You could put that in a box and sell it to Whole Foods for like, $8 a cup”. So then I made my coworker try it, and she was also quite pleased… especially few minutes later when she said something along the lines of “that soup is so good it’s like, haunting my taste buds”. I’m not even sure what was so wonderful about it. It’s very similar to our regular refrigerator soup, but just… different! And that, lads and ladles, is why we keep on making soup. Because sometimes it’s not just good for you, but really really good.

Crazy (Delicious) Cauliflower Soup

  • Melt half a stick of butter in a dutch oven or large soup pot on low
  • Saute in about 4 cloves of garlic until translucent, then add in one chopped yellow onion
  • When onion is fragrant, add in 3-4 chopped carrots and 3-4 chopped celery sticks and cook covered
  • Add in one full head (white parts only) of cauliflower, also chopped, and a box of white (or baby bella… or portabella) mushrooms and two bay leaves
  • Cook covered, stirring occasionally, until most of the way cooked, then cover with chicken broth and simmer for another 15 minutes
  • Remove bay leaves to blend, then add 3-4 generous shakes of nutmeg, juice from one lemon and (if you’re me) another half stick of butter
  • Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

