Vegan Enchiladas

27 Apr

The vegan challenge. I’m always happy with the results of my meals, but finding those meals to make in the first place is a little annoying. Alayna’s sister awesomely sent me a cookbook that passed through her magazine, Women’s Day, called “Part-Time Vegan.” I was super pumped. I haven’t given the recipes there a good look yet, but I will and will get back to you. Mainly, a lot of the self-declared “vegan” recipes I find on blogs and vegan cookbooks seem so bland. And it’s not the lack of cheese and stuff. Cooking vegan isn’t that different from how I ordinarily cook. It’s the lack of spices and flavor. I really beg, if you have great vegan recipes please share them by commenting below. I’d love to try them out.

But in the meantime, try out this one for size. Enchiladas. That is one thing I’m discovering actually, that vegan recipes that aren’t self-declared “vegan,” but are actually, vegan, from all around the world (more like Asia here, not how I think of Mexican food…) are totally flavorful and delicious. I should poke East for my recipes for next time. Anyways, this is delicious. I didn’t miss any cheese or meat and Gavin loved it. Very flavorful and filling.

Plate cleaning.

  • Preheat oven to 350 F
  • Saute 1 onion in olive oil with a sprinkle of salt until soft
  • Add 1 green (or any color) chopped pepper, 2 normal size summer squash cut in bite sized pieces and 1 tspn of chili powder, 2 dried chili peppers crushed, saute for another 5 minutes on medium heat
  • Add 3 or 4 chopped cloves of garlic
  • I bought this all natural taco seasoning at Whole Foods and added a ton– you don’t have to do this, you can just add 1 tbsp of tomato paste, generous shakes of cumin, onion powder and more chili powder instead
  • Add 1 can of black beans, saute for another 5 minutes.
  • Turn off heat and add lime juice (from one lime)
  • Lightly spray large rectangular baking dish, place a tortilla in front of you and arrange about 1/4 cup of bean mixture (or whatever you think) across the center. Roll up and place seam-side down into the backing dish.
  • You can fit about 4 inside, put extra juice you have from pot on top of the enchiladas and put in the oven for 20 minutes
  • Take out, sprinkle with chopped green onions and add sliced avocado on the side. And hot sauce if you so desire.
  • Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

