Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

3 Dec

photo (57)

Peppers, aka God’s little bowls, waiting to be stuffed.

I like stuffing stuff. One time I had a dinner party and called it, “Stuffed Stuff.” Stuffed peppers, stuffed mushrooms, stuffed eggplant. You can stuff squash, you can stuff potatoes, you can stuff tomatoes. You can literally stuff anything with a peel or skin. And then you just eat the whole entire thing and it’s delicious.

Now that we discussed the art of stuffing, lets discuss quinoa. I don’t love quinoa as much as I should. I know, shocking right? I should be obsessed with it. It’s a complete protein. It’s probably the healthiest grain there is- it just doesn’t excite me that much. (Let me first set the barometer on the sorts of things that do excite me: Farro, wheat berry, my shower drain not clogging, when this grandmother who lives in the apartment across the street has her lights turned on when I’m walking home so I can pause and look in her windows- a ritual that strangely relaxes me…) What I am saying is I’m easily excitable so quinoa should, in theory, excite me, but it doesn’t that much. It tastes too… pilly or something.

But the quinoa in this recipe is the best quinoa I’ve ever made. I think it’s the fact that I roasted it that helped with the texture and made it exciting. I made extra “stuffing” that didn’t fit into the two peppers, which I just threw onto the cookie sheet and roasted everything together. Then put the extras on a pile of spinach next to the plated pepper. And poof, a complete meal and a complete protein.

And what’s even more exciting? Don’t put cheese on top of this and you got yourself a vegan recipe. And lastly, let it be noted that a man ate this with me, and he was really into it. I just like to say that to prove that these recipes don’t just please the rabbit-girls of the world.

So stuff some stuff and enjoy!

Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees, lightly oil a baking pan
  • Boil 1/2 cup of quinoa & 1 cup of water (or chicken broth- better!) together, and then simmer for 15 minutes until soft
  • Cut the pepper’s “hats” off and clean out the insides- brush or spray the peppers with olive oil inside and out (I have spray olive oil, best invention ever)- put the peppers top-side-down in the oven for 15 minutes (when peppers are roasted, reduce the oven to 350)
  • In skillet, warm some olive oil, add half an onion chopped, some garlic chopped, for about 5 minutes- Then stir in 1 teaspoons of cumin, coriander, red pepper flakes & salt
  • Add a handful of each: chopped carrots, celery, zucchini & corn… really add as much as you want, you like a lot of veggies, add more, whatevs
  • When veggies are tender add the quinoa and salt to taste
  • Stuff the peppers with the quinoa stuffing, if there is extra just toss it on the oiled baking sheet. Sprinkle grated cheddar cheese over the peppers and put back into the oven for 10-15 minutes
  • Place over a nice bed of spinach and you’re done!
One Response to “Quinoa Stuffed Peppers”

  1. Meghan December 3, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

    I agree with you about quinoa! I like all the other grains but not that one. Maybe I’ll give it a try with this recipe!

Leave a Reply

